Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

As with any Master Facility List, manipulations to DATIM4U Organization Units (OUs) should be done with care, especially considering that this data is automatically synchronized with DATIM Global.  Continual harmonization between the two systems is essential to ensuring data integrity.  

DATIM4U Organizational Unit (OU) management and hierarchy operations in DATIM4U are done in the same was as hierarchy management is done in DATIM and changes are propagated to DATIM Global via the DATIM4U Site Exchange Process, which is subsequently kicked off during the submission of data.

For OU creation or modification to existing sites, one can follow the DATIM documentation: https://datim.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/categories/200415559-Data-Import-and-Systems-Administration.

OU deletion and merging are not yet supported by the synchronization.  See below how to handle these scenarios within DATIM4U.

Note: only after the 'Dataset assignments script' is run, will the applicable data elements be visible in the newly created OU.

Moving an OU within the Organizational Hierarchy

In addition to adding and modifying, OUs can also be moved within the geographic OU hierarchy, care must be taken to ensure that the site resides at the same geographic "level", especially if the OU contains reported data!  i.e. If the OU being moved is at the facility level, it should not be moved at the level of a district or province.  This is because data elements are applicable to specific geographic level and moving the level of an OU will cause data integrity issues.

Reference to DHIS2 Documentation: https://docs.dhis2.org/2.27/en/user/html/manage_organisation_unit.html#move_organisation_unit

How to Delete a Site in DATIM4U

It is recommended that sites be created in DATIM4U only when there is no doubt as to its accuracy and need. 

Currently, when a site is delete in DATIM4U, there is no longer anything in DHIS2 to represent the deleted site and therefore, there is nothing to send to DATIM global as a delete notification.    In other words, deleting a site from DATIM4U will not synchronize  or propagate the delete action to DATIM global.  Deleting a site from DATIM4U that has already propagated to DATIM Global will cause an orphaned site in DATIM global.  Therefore, if a deletion must happen, it must be coordinated with S/GAC through a ZenDesk ticket.

If is an orphaned site is found to exist in the global system, a ticket will need to be created to delete that, once again putting DATIM4U and DATIM back into alignment.

Note: Only sites without data can be deleted

Note: As an alternate option to deletion, if a site had been created that needs to be deleted and had already been synchronized to DATIM global and has no data, then one could simply modify the site to represent a valid new site and move it into the proper place in the hierarchy, circumventing the need for coordinating a delete process with S/GAC.

How to Merge Sites in DATIM4U

(To Be Completed)

  • No labels